Emigrating to Oz with a young baby

FranG

Hello there,

Its my first time posting on here although not my first time emigrating to oz..

A little bit about us.

Me and my fiance (now my hubby) emigrated to Brisbane in 2007 and spent nearly 2 years there.. took a while to get used to being away from family and friends however when we did we absolutely loved it. Unfortunately my husband was made redundant and we had to leave to come home (UK)

Fast forward to now and we have had the opportunity to return to Australia, Melbourne this time. My husband is very much looking forward to return however I am still undecided. We now have a 10 month old daughter so a lot more to consider and I am very nervous about being away from my family when they has given me so much support as a first time new mum.

Can anyone give me some advice about making a big move like this again with a baby to consider?

Where would be the best areas to live for a family like us. Husband is working in the CBD.

Any othere advice would be really appreciated as I am so nervous about feeling alone with a child whilst husband at work.

Thanks so much in advance..

Hi FranG

I am not in Oz yet. Hopefully we will be there in August. We did however move to the UAE when our twins were just 2 months old. Basically straight out of NICU, onto a plane and over here. We didn't know a single person and after a full year, still don't really know anyone. Certainly not anyone I could pick up the phone to. So I understand your concern about feeling alone.

From what I know, Melbourne will be very different to hear (as will Darwin where we hope to be) in that there will be a much more community focus. You should make some friends quite soon. Particularly if you find and join some mums and tots groups.