IT Analyst - no degree though

DeeDub

I have worked in the IT field for the last 13 years, the last 7 in banking as on site support - everything from servers, finance apps, networks etc.

Is a degree neccessary for entry for skilled migration or will my experience suffice - I have a few MCPs.

Do all IT engineers have to take the ACS skills asssesment?

Guest cantwait

Hi

You should be fine. My OH has no degree but 12 years experience. As far as I know all skilled and sponsored migrants have to have their skills assessed, but i'm no expert so please check with a migration agent. If you don't have a degree you will have to do the ACS assessment as well as RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning). It is quite in depth and time consuming. About 50 hours work went into my OH's but we got a positive assessment so it was worth it in the end. Try a website called www.RPLhelp.com we got a lot of useful info from this about what layout was expected etc. Good luck

I have just had my skills assessment passed and that was via the ACS RPL route. I have no degree but do have 10+ years experience myself. The forms took ages though, kept going back and to for more detail. That said, the actual assessment only took 3 weeks before we got a positive result.

Good luck.

I can only confirm what has already been said. I have now degree but years (too many to count) of experience. I had to take the RPL route which did take a lot of effort but with help from RPLHelp.com I got throught it. And that was a great feeling when the ACS said 'yes'!

Good luck and persevere with it!

Geoff

I have worked in the IT field for the last 13 years, the last 7 in banking as on site support - everything from servers, finance apps, networks etc.

Is a degree neccessary for entry for skilled migration or will my experience suffice - I have a few MCPs.

Do all IT engineers have to take the ACS skills asssesment?