Mancinperth

2nd stage de facto visa requirements

Hi all,

This is my first time on here however I've read a few threads and you seem like a friendly bunch so thought I'd try and seek some help.

My second stage application for my de facto visa is due in Sep 2013 and I'm starting to worry already! Not for any major reasons...or so I thought but because I am a natural worrier.

Anyway, my reasons for looking for some advice are because my partner and I are very financially independent and although we live together the house belongs to him (I couldn't go on a mortgage anyway with my temp residency status) his family have also invested in it (it's a new build) so rightfully nothing is in my name but his alone, with his brother as the beneficiary.

As this house has taken 2 years to complete, we have had no travel together within the last 18months and really not done much as its taken a toll on us (mainly him) financially and he's exhausted working a full time job and building a house.

Whilst all our bills go to the same address and we have things like joint gym membership etc financially that's where it ends!!

I thought this was a fairly normal set up, however I called my immigration agent last week for a check list in advance and she was horrified to learn that we don't financially rely on each other?? She told me in all the 13 years she's been an agent she has never heard of this???

im really frightened now as this is the dynamics of our relationship!! It's taken me 31 years to find a man who accepts me as an independent woman that doesn't need him for anything other than the fact I love him and want to spend my life with him and he feels the same, in the sense that I am supportive of his achievements and assets without having to have a claim on them.