Hello newbie here moving Perth with hubby late May from Nortb West

Sunset Addict

Hi just wanted to say Hello

My husband has landed a job in Perth on a sponsored 457 visa, we are thrilled as we did think we might have got too old for Australia! We are in our fifties and leaving our kids 28 and 31 behind as they have thier own lives and are fully behind us to go and have an adventure before dementia!

We have had a short visit and loved our time staying in Fremantle,which is convenient for job.

The more we find out ,the more we realise just how much we dont know! Its been a steep learning curve.

I have been lurking on the forums searching for answers to my millions of questions and have found it invaluable, so thanks to everyone who takes the time to answer with advice and personal experience.

No doubt I will be on here lots over the next few exciting but scary months leading up to the move.

We live very close to Fremantle, my son is cycling to his school there right now! I do love it, one of the few areas of metropolitan Perth that isn't soulless.

Is your visa for 4 years? I expect you don't plan to buy but for obvious reasons it's a desirable area and expensive. Even for renting can I suggest you look beyond Fremantle and into Cockburn or Melville, we are just 3km from Fremantle but houses here are $200k less! And similar reductions in rent.

We are actually returning back to the UK so maybe not the best advocate for Australia but if you want any local knowledge feel free to ask!

Adventure is good and at least when you come on a 457 you know it's only temporary, I do wish now we'd just come for an adventure. Enjoy yours!

Hey Welcome and congrats on the job offer.

Perth is a brilliant place to live. We are in our forties and sometimes i do wonder if our age has helped with the settling in process.