Anybody else expereince trouble getting work or even a reply to a job application here in Aus

armitchell

Hi

Not really sure if this is the right place for this thread but i have been wondering if it was just me or is it the same for other fellow country men from the UK when trying to get work here in Australia or more so here in Melbourne!

I have been coming and going from the UK to Australia since 2002 when I first had a working holiday visa and traveled all around oz and each part i went to found it near on impossible to get work in any area.

I am a qualified self employed and 4 yr apprenticeship served pipe fitter / plumber back in the UK and I am now 34 yrs old.

I spent a good few years trying to find work or get a sponsorship in Australia but nobody was interested until I got my own Permanent residency!

I got my permanent residency in 2008 settled in Melbourne and thought I would easily get work now that I had that! I went through all the right channels went to the Plumbing Industry Commision in Melbourne. Got a provisional plumbing licence - went to Tafe got my plumbing registration applied for jobs on line and never heard anything back not even to say they received my application.Must have applied for over a hundred jobs and heard nothing back at all. I was getting desperate so I applied for any casual jobs or labouring jobs again never heard anything back and if I did hear anything back it was just the run around and a general waste of time!

I went back to the UK broke after spending all my money.

Now I am back out here in Melbourne again thought I would give it another go before my permanent visa expired (it would be a waste) and guess what since I'v been here I have applied for loads of jobs and again nothing I don't get a response or acknowledgement what so ever!

Its like my applications and resume just go straight in the bin.

I am now curious to know if it is just me or do others from the UK experience the same ?????