Your Move to Oz What would You change?

Robo234

Guest Bazinga

I would choose not to be diagnosed with pneumonia and an upper respiratory tract infection the day before I flew out which meant I didn't get to finish packing my boxes for shipping ( thankfully I have a great family) and had to do the flight with two kids alone and feeling like death

I'd bring LESS stuff.

Even as it was, we only shipped a couple of palettes of things but more that half of that is still in cardboard boxes cluttering up the garage. For example, we used bedding as packing but, due to the different sizes of beds, most of that is useless here. Similarly, there some clothes there but, with the different climate and different life style, I rarely venture out of shorts and T shirts.

The things I would have changed would be to bring more work clothes ( I'm a roofer/ gutter man ). I've had to buy loads of work clothes !

Also I like the idea of bringing my car from the uk as buying a motor here (in WA) is a painfully expensive experience

Wouldn't change a thing, I had wanted to move before xmas, hubby wanted one last xmas, in hindsight it was a good choice as we have so many good memories from that time. It also meant that by the time our first xmas in Aus came around, we'd been here almost a year and didn't feel quite as displaced as when we first arrived.

Other than bringing a few white goods that we left behind, im not sure we would change anything if we had our time all over again.

Cal x

We'd have like to have managed the meet up we planned but then your visa came and you were off ..... still, we managed to do it eventually when we came over East

I would have had my partner move out at the same time as me, rather than 7 months later, and I would have gone for the 3-bed house rather than the 2-bed one so that I could have a dedicated work-space at home (didn't know how much I'd work from home rather than on campus).