Bunbury - Insider knowledge needed!

SophieTheSoph

My partner and I are considering a move to Bunbury area from Sydney, where we've been for the last 18 months. The big motivation is that my OH wants to retrain at TAFE, and Bunbury seem to do the best course. Plus we love the outdoors, and aren't 'big city' people anyway, so never planned to stay too long in the big smoke.

Our main concern is around work and living....

I am an experienced marketing manager for the not-for-profit/government sector, and earn good-ish money in Sydney. I know this kind of work will be very unlikely to come up in Bunbury, but I am ready and open to a change, from admin type jobs (I am very organised and a good project manager) to even something like cafe work. Very much seeing it as a chance for a total life change, and would be quite happy not to sit in front of a desk all day!

We've obviously researched rental costs and so on, but most jobs advertised online in the area don't give any idea of salaries or hourly pay. Does anyone know what the going rate is for cafe work? Or a fairly simple office job? Or, conversely, how much you would want as a minimum salary in the area to support two people (while OH is studying)?

We're both very frugal with money, and ready to try a different way of life, but equally don't want to be idiots about it!

Thanks, StS

Hi there, admin jobs seem tough to find in the area, my wife and I moved here a couple of months ago. Our situation is diffeernt though, my wife is loking for part time, there are some mining companies based in the area who ar paying high 40s to early 50s for admin. Rents are (after moving from Alice springs) to us very cheap. 300 will get a very nice place in the burbs or even 280 in areas like usher. We are not big earners but have a good lifestyle and have made some friends here after only a couple of months. Good luck whatever you choose.