Taxes on WHV??? Help please.......

paddyandhollyB23

Guest littlesarah

The rate of tax you pay depends on whether you're considered resident or non-resident. My understanding is that most people on WHVs are considered non-resident (and therefore pay a different rate of tax from residents), but there are exceptions.

The Australia Taxation Office website contains lots of information: http://www.ato.gov.au

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.aspx?doc=/content/36280.htm

This is a better ATO link.

See the examples of Kate and Janine.

If you are living in one place for (usually) more than 6 months you might reasonably consider yourself a tax resident, rather than a non resident for tax purposes.

Tax residents access the tax free threshold, the 19% rate band, and the low income tax offset.

Best regards.

Hiya mate, bit off topic but I'm going to Perth in February and I'm a carpenter. Have you already sorted some work or are you just hoping to sort it when you arrive? Do you know anything about the white cards that you need to work in construction? Also does the b23 part of your name refer to the postcode as I am from Birmingham? Cheers Den

That website is really helpful and the example of Kate would be the same as me meaning I would be classed as an Australian national.

I am in negotiations with a Perth construction company that have new projects starting in 2013. I am hopeful of getting a position with them ( Iam a site engineer / eengineering surveyor). However I am aware my position is in demand and have been told once I am in the country a lot more opportunities will open up. I would prefer a metro job but may look into FIFO works if needs be.

I believe the white cards are the same as our cscs and believe the company you work for will sort it out. It may be different with your line of work.

Yes I'm from Erdington what about yourself?

So I take it you are planning on staying in Perth long term? What do you mean by metro & FIFO?