457 Defacto 6 Weeks Pregnant- help!

Roxy1990

Hi Guys!

Ive got a mix of questions I need answered so not sure if I'm in the correct thread but here goes-

My boyfriend is the primary visa holder and I work as a permanent employee 4 month into my 6 month probationary period. We are both covered with Medicare cards.

Firstly- in terms of the pregnancy does anyone have any unfit on if we're covered or any costs involved

Secondly- I don't intend on telling my employer until my probation is up but am I entitled to maternity leave? Paid/Un-paid? If they somehow find out before my probation is up can they extend this or use it as a way to finish my contract?

Really worried about the whole situation so any info would be great :)

Congratulations!

I would think that the pregnancy will be covered by medicare, with maybe the exception of the scans and blood tests, but that is really only a guess from what I have seen posted on here in the past. I don't think that provision for maternity leave is great here, but again I don't have first hand experience.

Hopefully someone a bit more helpful will come along in a bit.

You do not have full Medicare on 457 visa, you can only have reciprocal cover, still I have seen other 457 holders with only reciprocal Medicare and they seem to manage fine with that.

Most employers would expect 12 months employment before there are any maternity benefits, regardless of visa or even citizenship status, so unles syou are very fortunate you need to be prepared for nothing. Perhaps your company has an intranet site you can look this up on? You definitely won't get any government benefits.

I would be just about certain that ending an employment because of a pregnancy would be against employment law.