Job searching in Oz for nursing... what Grade am I?

KirstHelloKitty

Hiii,

I am a BAND 5 nurse in the UK and have been a nurse for 15 months, I have started applying for jobs in Brisbane as I now have my registration to practice nursing in Australia (finally!!!) and just wanted to check what grade I am in Oz if I am Band 5 in the UK. I'm worried i'm looking at the wrong jobs so any info would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Kirst :) xx

No a Grade 5 will be a nurse unit manager. (although you could probably do that better than the Aussies with just 15 months British experience!!!)

No a Division 1 nurse just means the equivalent of a qualified nurse in the UK

A Division 2 nurse is like a slightly more qualified HCA.

There is also a Division 3 nurse but they are all old, its not something they have anymore, I dont really know how it differes from Div 1.

The grades each have years attached....the years are like the UK increments for each year you have been in that band and the grades are like bands...

Typically its

Grade 2: Staff Nurse

Grade 3: Charge Nurse (called Associate Nurse Unit Manager here)

Grade 4: something between a charge nurse and a manager

Grade 5: Nurse Unit manager

Grade 6; Someone that sits in an office in a suit and earns a lot of money

That's really helpful thank you! So when I'm searching on the "Work for us" option on the Queensland Government health website and it says "Grade 5" is that for my benefit in the UK then? It's "divisions" in Australia?

Hi

No, in Queensland the grades are different to Victoria. Blobby is in Vic so has given you the Vic divisions.

In Queensland the grades are similar to UK. Grade 5 is more or less equal to a band 5 and this is what you'll be. the level in the band 5 depends on how many years you have been qualified. So you will be a grade 5 on the 2nd level.