Campervan Conversion From Panelvan (VW Transporter, Toyota Hiace)

Guest radiance

Guest radiance

Hello, first post :)

A quick descroiption of my plans: I just got a WHV, I am planning to move to Perth in Jan 2013 (can't wait), travel a few months then look for a proper job and sponsorship (I am a mathematician with work experience in finance, looking to find a job in minig/oil&gas/ressources).

Before starting travelling I am planning to buy a straight panelval - VW Transporter or Toyota Hiace - and then convert it myself to campervan adding furniture, fridge, sink, kitchenette....

In the UK self-conversion perfectly feasible and legal, the van can be re-registered as campervan with the DVLA. How does that work out in Australia?

Thank you in advance!

Radiance

Have you had a quick look on Gumtree or Ebay ? Over here there are loadsss of these vans already converted and ready to go, most have been previously used by backpackers so have lots of little extras thrown in with the price. Finance wise i think this would be better than buying the van, converting it and having it inspected and re registered.

Cal x

Bear in mind panel vans aren't insulated or ventilated for sleeping in, could get a bit cold and damp at nights. We had a 'home conversion' they'd used rock wool to insulate and where the damp had collected it had rusted through the panels, still live and learn. I did see a tent (like a roof box) that can go on top of a roof rack looked quite cool.

Guest radiance

Thanks guys. I actually searched for ready campervans on ebay already (will check gumtree) but they look very pricy and with loads of kms. I was looking for a van with 100k-120k kms, 4x4, seems to be feasible with $20k-$25k. I thought insulation is not necessary if living in Perth?

Guest radiance