Guest Emma2307

Guest Emma2307

My Husband and I would like to move to Australia, we have 3 children ranging from 14yrs old to 1yr. My Husband is a qualified electrician and I am a magazine editor, we are currently both self-employed.

Realistically I can continue to be the editor of my magazine for 6-12 months from overseas, therefore my income can still continue during that time.

I am puzzled as to the best way to come over to Australia, my Husband would be the one that could get us the points - Is it best for him to get a job before we go? How do we go about looking for a job for him? I understand that he would be an electricians mate until he got an Electricians Licence in OZ.

Does anyone know if I would be allowed to continue running my business in the UK whilst gradually setting up the same business in OZ?

I have read so many different sites, all giving me slightly different advice, so now I am confused. I would love to hear from anyone who can give us some advice, in particular a sparky who has a similar family set up as ours and how they made the move.

Thanks. :smile:

Hi and welcome, i went on a 176 visa which is what i think is the best way forward.They are desperate for electricians tho there method is different and he would likely have to train for a while, you need a chat with an agent, all info is here just do a bit of research with the blank box at the top of the page, best o luck

My Husband and I would like to move to Australia, we have 3 children ranging from 14yrs old to 1yr. My Husband is a qualified electrician and I am a magazine editor, we are currently both self-employed.

Realistically I can continue to be the editor of my magazine for 6-12 months from overseas, therefore my income can still continue during that time.