Any Alarm / CCTV / Access control engineers migrated? and how?

w1johnston

Hi,

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

I am an Alarm engineer with over 10 yrs experience (but no qualifications) and would love to move to Oz, I have spoken with a couple of migration agency's who say this occupation is not on the list and I could only get in through employer sponsorship.

I would like to know if there is anyone with the same occupation who has been through this and what route you took?

Looking at the SOL there are occupations listed such as Electronic instrument trades person which when you read the description, it does describe what I do, are the migration agency's right and I am trying to find something that really isn't there? Or are they just taking easy applications as suggested to us by some friends we met in Oz?

If you moved through employer sponsorship, how easy or hard was it to find a job and how long did it take from getting a job offer to moving?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

An update for anyone that's in a similar occupation and thinking about migrating, it turns out this occupation is on the SOL, it has been hard to find since the occupation descriptions are so vague but here it is spelt out nicely. ANZSCO code 342313 ELECTRONIC EQUIPMENT TRADES WORKER http://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/Product+Lookup/1220.0~First+Edition,+Revision+1~Chapter~UNIT+GROUP+3423+Electronics+Trades+Workers

I've spoken with staff at Go Matilda today, first impressions are very good and the fees don't seem too bad, looks like we will be going down the state sponsorship route.

Things are looking positive:biggrin:

Edited by w1johnston

• 4 months later...
Guest Nickoz