Carpenter Skills assesment- how much? where? points? trying for a 475. PLEASE HELP!

tmatt

Hi Guys,

So I have some questions that i'm going to keep in the one post if that's ok. If anyone can shed any light for me I would be hugely appreciative!

So i'm a 26 year old carpenter from the UK. I've been to Oz on a WHV and came back to this "country" 6 months ago. I am now desperate to go back.

I have no paper qualification- time served.

I have a Grandfather in Perth that will sponsor me on a 475.

On the current points system I have

30 for my age,

10 for my IELTS (8.0),

10 for my grandad sponsoring me,

5 for working year in Oz

5 for working 3 or more years in UK

So 60 points at the moment.

Now the questions:

On my IELTS I received a score of 8.0-(7.5,7.0,8.5,8.5), Does this definitely mean I will only get classed as a level 7 having not cleared 8 in all 4 areas? If so then I will re-take and providing I pass this will give me my 70 points. Just rather not do it again!

Alternatively (and I may still do this regardless) there is a very short course for time-served tradies such as myself that I could complete- It is an NVQ- would this be recognised as a trade qualification for 10 points?

I need to have my skills assessed by I believe the TRA? Does anyone know who does this in the UK (I am based in London-although will obviously travel anywhere), how much this generally costs and potentially most important- how long this takes in terms of booking it now and completing?

Where all the applications are changing on July 1st I really need to book a test in between now and then- does anyone know what the wait time is on this kind of thing?

Would I be able to start the visa process without this in place first- providing it will be completed shortly after application?

Are points given if you complete this assessment?

How difficult is this course? If they chuck up something i've not done loads of how harsh will they be?

Do I get a chance to re-take?