Jump to content

You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'penrith or blue'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Moving to Australia
    • Visa Chat
    • Skilled Visas
    • Family / Partner Visas
    • Temporary Visas
    • Business Skills Visas
    • Business Sponsored
    • Working Holiday Visas
    • Shipping and Removals
  • Life in Australia
    • Aussie Chat
    • Household
    • Renting & Real Estate
    • Money & Finance
    • Education
    • Health
    • Careers and Vacancies
    • Kids Down Under
    • Pets
    • Socialising Hobbies Clubs Sport
    • Travel
  • Australian States & Territories
    • ACT
    • New South Wales
    • Northern Territory
    • Queensland
    • South Australia
    • Tasmania
    • Victoria
    • Western Australia
  • Partner Forums
    • Money Transfer: Ask Moneycorp
    • Financial Advice: Ask Vista
    • Shipping Pets: Ask Pet Air
  • Moving to the UK
    • UK Chat
    • Education
    • Where to Live?
    • Money and Finance
  • PomsInOz Specific
    • Chewing the fat

Categories

  • Migration
  • Living in Australia
  • Jobs and Careers
  • Moving to Australia Real Life Stories
  • Money and Finance
  • Transport
  • Where to live in Australia?
    • Victoria
    • Queensland
    • New South Wales
    • Tasmania
    • Western Australia
    • South Australia
  • Backpacking
  • News
  • Forum Help

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Found 1 result

  1. Hi, Am currently considering a job offer based in Penrith (on a 427 visa) but have no sense of how far my salary will go in this area. I'm in the UK at the moment and the move would mean bringing over two young children (1 and 3) and my husband. Initially, we would be looking to rent and would probably be living off my salary alone for the first 3-6 months. My salary would be in the region of $114000. Have been looking at lots of information about the area and house rentals etc., but it's hard to gauge what price rental bracket we should be aiming for without having a real feel for how far my money will go. We will potentially have some savings to bring with us, but we want to keep that fairly intact in the hope of buying our own place in a year or two if we decide to stay. Leonay, Emu Heights, Glenbrook, all look like nice family friendly areas, but what are the costs of living in those areas? I'm also interested to know what the primary schools/preschools are like there. I should be able to get discounted child care places at my work for the children, so am less concerned about that. My husband will also probably only look for part-time work at the start, to be at home with the children and ease the transition, so initial child care costs will hopefully be minimal. My husband's currently in IT, but only new to it and still doing some studying/training, it's a bit of a career change for him at the moment. What is the job market like for IT in that area? Is it an easy-ish commute to inner Sydney if that's where most of the jobs are? Would be grateful for any advice. Feeling very daunted at the enormity of the decisions we have to make! Anne
×