Jump to content

You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'eastern suburbs'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Moving to Australia
    • Visa Chat
    • Skilled Visas
    • Family / Partner Visas
    • Temporary Visas
    • Business Skills Visas
    • Business Sponsored
    • Working Holiday Visas
    • Shipping and Removals
  • Life in Australia
    • Aussie Chat
    • Household
    • Renting & Real Estate
    • Money & Finance
    • Education
    • Health
    • Careers and Vacancies
    • Kids Down Under
    • Pets
    • Socialising Hobbies Clubs Sport
    • Travel
  • Australian States & Territories
    • ACT
    • New South Wales
    • Northern Territory
    • Queensland
    • South Australia
    • Tasmania
    • Victoria
    • Western Australia
  • Partner Forums
    • Money Transfer: Ask Moneycorp
    • Financial Advice: Ask Vista
    • Shipping Pets: Ask Pet Air
  • Moving to the UK
    • UK Chat
    • Education
    • Where to Live?
    • Money and Finance
  • PomsInOz Specific
    • Chewing the fat

Categories

  • Migration
  • Living in Australia
  • Jobs and Careers
  • Moving to Australia Real Life Stories
  • Money and Finance
  • Transport
  • Where to live in Australia?
    • Victoria
    • Queensland
    • New South Wales
    • Tasmania
    • Western Australia
    • South Australia
  • Backpacking
  • News
  • Forum Help

Blogs

There are no results to display.

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Found 8 results

  1. The best schools are located in predominately the east and south-east of Melbourne. There area also a couple of other great performing schools on the Mornington Peninsula and Werribee.
  2. Moving to Sydney and looking at suburbs to rent in. Eastern Suburbs seem like obvious choice for a life in walking distance to the beach, with local cafes and shops, decent pubs and transport links to CBD where I will most likely end up working. I loved Coogee when I was in Australia 10 years ago but thinking maybe Maroubra will be cheaper rent wise but still in reasonable travel distance to the centre. Am I missing a jewel in Sydney's crown of suburbs? My dream is to live Northern Beaches but commutes to centre put me off, Mona Vale, Dee Why, Manly. So think they have to wait for a couple of years until I might be in position to work from home. Thoughts/Suggestions/Experiences welcome
  3. Hi My boyfriend and I are both 36 originally from the UK and live in Randwick. We both love the outdoor life style and really enjoy going off camping or heading down to the Royal National Park for the weekend. We are pretty active (Kayaking, beach volley ball) and love getting out there and getting involved in all Sydney has to offer. Love to hear from others with similar interests. Lisa
  4. After 3 very enjoyable years in Sydney we are moving back to the UK and are selling the contents of our flat. Majority of items were bought from IKEA and are in good condition. Some items are available immediately, remainder available from Saturday 2 June. Contents would be ideal for a couple moving into an unfurnished 2 bed flat in Sydney - discount available if multiple items are taken. Items can be viewed at http://tinyurl.com/tamarama69 Available immediately IKEA double bed (Malm), mattress (Sultan) [151cm x 77cm] - $200 Bean bag chair / lounger (Ambient Lounge) - $100 Billabong 2 burner BBQ with heavy duty cover & gas canister - $100 Floor standing stainless steel DeLonghi fan [130cm tall] - $100 Desktop stainless steel DeLonghi fan - $50 20kg dumbbell set - $30 Available from 2 June IKEA queen bed (Malm), mattress (Sultan Hasselbak) [169cm x 77cm] + bedside tables - $300 L shaped chocolate brown sofa [210cm x 85cm / 150cm x 85cm] - $250 IKEA white dining room table (seats 6 comfortably) [175cm x 75cm] - $50 8 x collapsible black plastic IKEA chairs - $60 IKEA desk (white) [120cm x 67cm] - $30 IKEA drawers (ANEBODA / White) [80cm x 40.5cm x 100cm] - $50 IKEA coffee tables x 4 (Black) - $10 each LG Microwave - $30 Iron (Morphy Richards ComfiGrip) & ironing board - $30 De Longhi Toaster - $25 De Longhi Kettle - $40 IKEA floor standing lights and lamps - $10 each Assortment of kitchenware, includes crockery set for 12 All items are for pick up only from Tamarama.
  5. Hi everybody This is my first post to PIO... ...and we are leaving in only two months from now! :arghh: I have secured a job in Sydney which is great but as a result we are having to work very quickly to pack up our lives in London and arrange everything at light speed for when we arrive in Sydney. We are very lucky to be provided with four-weeks temporary accommodation by my employer when we arrive which is fantastic but this is still not that long to try to arrange rental accommodation thereafter. We are pretty sure that we want to base ourselves in the Eastern suburbs on the basis that they: offer a quick(er) commute to the CBD where I am working are close enough to be able to walk to the beach and are a short hop from the airport (I will need to travel quite a bit for work and my OH's family is based in Brisbane All of the above sounds like a recipe for very expensive rental prices which is perhaps a conversation for another day. What I was really keen to understand was what everyone thought about the strip of suburbs from Bondi down to Maroubra. Other than a couple of visits to Bondi we haven't spent any time in the area before. I lived in Northern Beaches for a year about 12 years ago but other than that we know basically nothing (my Aussie OH lived all her life in Brisbane before coming to Blighty). We have seen some very nice-looking 3/4 bedroom houses in South Coogee and between Coogee and Randwick but we don't know whether these are nice areas, accessible, noisy, clean etc. Any thoughts would be very much appreciated as we really have no idea what we are doing at the moment... The few people I have spoken to have told me that Bondi is where it's at for night life etc but after more than ten years of living and working in London this is not necessarily the draw it once was. I am 33 and my OH, who is expecting our first child, is 29. That's not to say we don't like going out and enjoying ourselves, we quite like being close to the CBD but we also appreciate a bit of space and a bit of peace and quiet - we currently live on quite a quiet street in London. I drive a Vespa in London and I am keen to drive either a high powered scooter or motorbike when I get to Australia so good/fast public transport is not a must-have. If the CBD is bus/trainable in up to 45 minutes then that should be fine. Any thoughts, comments, ideas would be greatly appreciated. Cheers
  6. Hello, we are a family of 3, looking for friendly English people to socialize with. I'm Australian, but my partner is from the UK and is getting quite homesick (and subsequently, on my nerves). We have a 1.5 year old son, who is adorable and very social. We happened to be the first ones in our circle to have a child, so feeling a bit left out from the bondi party scene, and in need of meeting new people, with children or without. I'm your typical girly girl, 29 yo, shopping, heels and wine; partner's into his fishing, tennis, boats and cars, he's 30. Hit us up if you fancy a coffee or a wine/beer. :wubclub:
  7. Hi ! My friend and I moved to Sydney a month ago today and expected to find a huge lesbian community but we seem to have moved to the straightest place in Sydney (Maroubra Beach) and although we love it, we would really appreciate the company of some gay friends. We are 38 and 46 and enjoy all the usual things like eating out, cinema, coffee, beach etc. We like the odd night out but we're not big clubbers - bit too old now! If anyone fancies meeting up for a coffee/night out, (or just to tell us where the lesbians in Maroubra hang out!) please get in touch Rachel x
  8. Hi everyone :laugh: I am new to all this jazz, so bare with me... I have just moved to Melbourne with my hubby and 2 babies. We lived in Perth for 3 years - but found it a little too quiet - so moved house, kids and cat to Melbourne. Am feeling overwhelmed by everything (boohoo poor me :cry:) Am looking for a pal, or 2, or 3 who are in similar situation...can you help me??? I am 33yrs old, I have a wee boy named Henry who is soon to be 2 and a little girl named Lucy who is soon to be 1... feeling exhausted as neither of them will sleep in our new house ahhhhhh!!! My hubby and I are easy going, like a laugh and fun.:wub: Thanks for listening - feel better already :tongue: Elaine
×