Jump to content

You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

Pards

Members
  • Content Count

    3
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Neutral

About Pards

  • Rank
    Junior Member
  1. Hi, So I arrived into Sydney last week and was orginally staying on George St in a serviced app. I am on a 457, 32 yr old single asian British male from Leicester and moved down here alone. I managed to find a really nice unfurnished newly built place in Surry Hills and moved in yesterday after hours of sweat and tears I assembled some of my Ikea furniture.....!!! Surry Hills seems like a great area and I have loved every minute of being in Sydney since I got here, the people are so friendly and welcoming and everyone seems really chilled out not like the UK!!.... and not to mention the amazing women!! I have been really busy since I got here, opening bank accounts, phones, finding a place to live, furniture etc...... I am working in the CBD and started on Monday the guys I work with are great but they have all got their own lives to lead so it seems nobody is really up for a beer in the week and Fridays is mainly the time they go out.... so I suppose I am feeling a little bit lonley, I was just thinking as I write this if I was back home I would be down the local albeit snow etc, sinking a few pints with my mates... so my question is, and I appreciate this has been posted on here a 100 times, did most people feel like I do when they got out here? - Are there any other people in the same boat now and if so I would be more than happy to meet up? Any advice and tips? Thanks, Pards.
  2. Thanks for all your comments above, are there any area's you would say are a no no? Also has anyone had any experiences living in Bondi and Mosman? Cheers Pards.
  3. Hi All, I am new to this forum but thought I could get some advice, I have just had my 457 via approved and will be flying into Sydney on the 16th Jan to start work in the CBD a week after, my company has given me 2 weeks in a serviced appartment in Mosman when I arrive. I am a 32yr old single male from the UK, Initialy I was thinking I would like to live in Manly but have been told it can be a long commute to do daily and difficult to get back at night? - My budget is up to $500 per week and just wondered if people had any advice or ideas in regards to the best places to live and commute to the CBD. As with a lot of other people I am a little bit apprehensive about moving to a new country on my own and want to live somewhere safe but also friendly and fun, Ideally as close to a beach as possible would be great but not sure if this would be possible? Also would people suggest a houseshare or getting your own place to make some friends? Thank you any suggestions would be very much appreciated. Pards.
×