Jump to content

You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!


  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Neutral

About Zed

  • Rank
    Junior Member

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Zed

    Which area in Sunshine Coast

    Thanks so much for this, great info
  2. Zed

    Which area in Sunshine Coast

    Hopefully we get some good tips Ken
  3. Hi all, My hubby and I plus to kids 10 & 7 have been trying to relocate to Qlds from Melbourne for sometime now and fingers crossed my hubby may have a job lined up in Noosaville. Please can you advise on good suburbs no more than 30 mins commute away from his work where we can buy a 3 bed for under 600k... We won't be ready to buy for 2 years so want to rent where we can buy later and not be priced out. Good public primary and high schools are important and no more than a 10 min drive to the beach. Good community spirt, cafes etc but doesn't need to be bustling. Just things to do for the kids etc. Thanks in advance
  4. Zed

    National insurance stamps

    Brilliant help. Thanks all
  5. Zed

    National insurance stamps

    Thank you.....this gives me something to work on. Appreciate your help.
  6. Hi there, I'm 38 and have lived in Australia for nearly 10 years now. Someone said to me I should continue to pay my national insurance in the UK so I can claim that pension too. I only paid about 10 years worth in the UK and haven't paid any since living here. Can anyone advise if this is true and how I should go about it? I'm reading lots of differing articles online. Thanks
  7. HI there, Currently living/renting in the Mordialloc area of South East Melbourne and love it. However, we just cant afford to buy here so we are starting to look elsewhere. Any recommendations for around 500k that has a great family lifestyle, inc parks, pool, cafes etc, plenty for the children to do when young and teenagers. Not too hot and humid (so not too far North), a beach nearby, good public schools and amenities such as shops, doctors and a hospital not too far away. I'm open to anywhere that is affordable, even if it doesn't have all of the above but is growing. Any further advice on Gold and Sunshine Coasts, North and South coast NSW would be really appreciated Thanks in advance
  8. Thanks all for your help, think we are going to stick with Frankston/South now maybe Seaford isn't for us.
  9. Sounds interesting, whats the show, Ill look out for it, thanks
  10. Hi there, My husband, I and two kids are currently living in Mordialloc and we love it here. The beach lifestyle, the café culture, the community feel and all the amenities that come with it for adults and kids. We have been here for two years now on a PR visa and plan to stay for good. However we are wasting our money renting and really need to buy. We have little deposit and I am currently a SAHM so only one wage. There is no way we can afford a place here so we are looking to move elsewhere and hopefully get back to Mordy one day. Anyway we are looking to spend around 400K and need a 3 bed place with a garden. According to Real Estate we can go to Chelsea Heights, Carrum Downs, Seaford or Frankston/South for this amount of money. Im leaning towards Seaford as it has the beach, shops etc as Mordy does and im hoping that over then next few years it will develop in the same way Mordialloc has. Does anyone know if this the case? Are there any plans to improve/invest in Seaford? Is Seaford a good place to start out as a first time buyer, will our money grow here? or do you think the other suburbs I mentioned above are a good place to put our money? Also any investor gurus out there who have any other recommendations, please let me know. Im doing research on the net and driving round places but its so hard to get started when you know nothing about buying and your in a different country. Another consideration for us is good kinders, playgroups and schools etc, with two very young kids I need things to keep them busy and id like to be able to walk to the local shops etc, this isn't a must but a like to have, I found this lacked in Frankston South although it was beautiful. Last and final questions, is it better to get on the property ladder somewhere else or better to stay in Mordi and save like mad until we can afford to buy here (prob 10 years! lol) as Ive been told buying to earn money, sell on and move up the ladder is very expensive here and isn't done like it is back in the UK??? Thanks a lot for your help.
  11. Zed

    New to Melbourne Bayside Area

    Thanks for the welcome everyone. No Luvhaggis he is working in Rowville so not too far at all to travel. Michelle give over your def not an oldie! my great gran is 100 now thats old. I think Ive added you on Facebook? Sam your like me the sssssshhhhhh about any woman increasing in age is always best, like I said Im now 29 forever! ha ha I tried to find you on face book but there were so many Sam Smiths so it might be best if you add me - zoe williams. Would love to meet up with you guys so ill be in touch when we move. We have just secured a house yesterday in Mordi (so excited) so looks like we will be there around mid feb if all goes well with the shipping. Speak Soon Zoe xxx
  12. Hi guys, Myself (Zoe) Hubby (Paul) and our 15 month son are new to Melbourne. We have been here a few months now and are loving it so far. We are in Box Hill at the min but moving to Mordi in 4 weeks time and would love to make some friends in the area. Im a stay at home mum so happy to go to play groups, beach etc with other mums. Also would be good to meet families or couples to socialise with, Barbies, Beers, Meals and Coffees etc. We are from Yorkshire in England, im nearly 30 (but will be staying 29 forever) Paul is 32. Give us a shout if you fancy a meet up. Zoe xx
  13. Hi Everyone, Hope this thread is still going. Myself and hubby are new to Oz. We are both from England (Yorkshire) here with our 15 month old boy. Moving to Mordialloc in a months time. Loving life here but would love to make some friends for us and our little one. If any meets up are happening or you fancy meeting up for a beer, coffee etc just give me a shout. Zoe x