Jump to content

You're currently viewing the forum as a Guest
register-now-button_orig.png
and join in with discussions   
ask migration questions
message other members

..and much much more!

smelf1

Members
  • Content Count

    6
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

10 Neutral

About smelf1

  • Rank
    Junior Member
  1. smelf1

    Family Life in Kalgoorlie

    Right an update on my situation, we have got sorted in Kalgoorlie and after a few chats are going to stay. I found a 2 bed house (Found through a local Business owner who heard about us from people we randomly met and with us being stuck in a hotel with our child, so they contacted us and got us sorted with the rental house that they owned) and have met loads of people from randomly chatting to them in the parks. The parks like Hammond park are beautiful very well looked after and have bird aviary's, Emu's and Kangaroos in a large enclosure and a large brand new playground. It also has a few free to use BBQ and is always packed with young families. There are a few more playgrounds and new parks dotted all over the town. So far we are really suprised by Kal it is huge and has everything you need, with no traffic so when you finish work at 5 your home by 5 past five. If you need to pop to the shops across town it takes only the drive time as there is no traffic jams and no paid parking etc. There are loads of sports clubs from martial arts, rugby, football and a 50m pool and sports complex with gym. And in the space of a week we have made loads of contacts and friends ranging from Canadian, Irish, NZ, Oz, South African, Zimbabwean, Scots and English. Everyone we have met so far have been extremely friendly and helpful. If you are renting stay away from Boulder and dont live too far towards the south side, try to keep near Hannan Street, Hannans, Picadilly, Lamington, Somerville and O'Connors and you should be fine. So hopefully when you get here we can all meet up, we have a 18month old Girl and have been getting into playdates etc with the other families we have met. We have loads of nice pics to put up but they will have to wait until i get some proper internet into the house. These 3/4G modems suck like the ones back home.
  2. smelf1

    Family Life in Kalgoorlie

    Hi Paul, Your probably right, i agreed to move to Kalgoorlie to take the job then the other one came about. I just got to Kalgoorlie today and the job have not sorted out any accommodation so i had to find a hotel for myself the missus and baby. And the first 2 hotels were totally booked out as there are races and a big health and safety conference in town. And rentals look scarce, any available have 6+ offers straight away. A few are available in South Kalgoorlie but this is the area to avoid. The 4 rental companies we visited said there are loads of people living in hotels for months and trying to get rental property so anything good is snapped straight away. A few properties up now will not be available for 3+ weeks so we would end up stuck in hotels which will cost me a fortune. So the missus is not one bit impressed at the moment. The town is a-lot bigger than i taught and seems to have everything there. A bit to many boy racers about the main roads though.
  3. smelf1

    Family Life in Kalgoorlie

    Hi Collip99, Its a new position which i just accepted, also just got offered a new position in central perth for 10k more 2 days after i accepted the first. And as i accepted the first i think i will have to pass on the other job offer in Perth.
  4. smelf1

    Family Life in Kalgoorlie

    Hi all, I am moving to Kalgoorlie next week with the Other half and our 18 month old girl. Driving from Sydney on Monday to start work on the 21st. Hopefully we get settled and get to know a load of people.
  5. smelf1

    one way flights

    IOM got my flights for 2 adults and 1 infant for €1300 with 40kg per adult and 10kg for the infant. Thats with Emirates, Etihad would not give me any extra baggage allowance or discounts for a one way migrant flight.
  6. Hi all, What kind of prices are you getting to ship from Ireland. I am getting ranges from 3200 - 7000 for a 20' and a 40'. And each company's pricing are quite different. Who did you use and what kind of prices did you get. I am taking my car and household items. Thanks Smelf1
×