Update

Loulou

Hi all, just an update and possibly some kind of reassurance for those emigrating soon! I emigrated on the 2nd May on a 189 visa, and despite terrible flights due to the children coming down with a sickness bug and myself the flu it has been great! We did not ship anything just came with our 2 children and 30 kg each!

Medicare - Registered the day after arriving as I was unwell, walked into a surgery once registered and given antibiotics without hesitation (had already been to go in UK day before flying as I knew I was developing a chest infection however would not prescribe being a nurse I knew I needed them) cost me 16 dollars for prescription just make sure you find a surgery that bulk bills. (Took out one way travel insurance to see us from uk to Oz which covered us for 5 days with go walkabout)

Bank - I had already opened a bank account with NAB prior to arriving and funds had already been transferred with halo financial. Walked into the local branch, showed my passport and way to go cards provided there and then. If you open a joint account you both need to attend.

House rental- we viewed 6 houses over a period of two days around halls head and mandurah and fell in love with one in halls head! Applied on Thursday and received the lease on the Friday we move in on the 16th ( booked 3 wks in an apartment so we have a week crossover to buy furniture etc as not shipped). 400 dollars a week a bargain in halls head!

Car- Rented a car for two weeks and secured a car we like today the cars appear to be in better condition than in the UK despite being older iam no expert though, picked up a car for 7500 dollars.