Should I move back to Perth

Suem8

Been living back in UK for just over 2 years after 16 years in Perth,I'm now divorced but my older children live in Perth.

scared to come back no so much getting work but the cost of living.

i work in retail.

Do you have any assets in the UK?

I'm not sure anyone on a forum should really be telling you whether or not to move to the other side of the world. If Perth is where you want to be then my advice would be move there. You mention the cost of living which everyone seems to agree is high, if you are aware of this and think you can afford it then go for it.

Been living back in UK for just over 2 years after 16 years in Perth,I'm now divorced but my older children live in Perth.

scared to come back no so much getting work but the cost of living.

i work in retail.

If you have assets to take with you, then the exchange rate is in your favour. If not, then lower wages, higher expenses, and lack of jobs will work against you. But it really comes down to you and your kids and how much support they will give you.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
Hello sue , can you not go on a parent migration or last remaining relative maybe

After 16 years in Perth I'd expect the OP is a citizen or at the very least as a RRV.

What made you move back to the UK Sue? Are those reasons still valid?

I was on what most people would consider a high salary in Perth and struggled because I was used to being affluent and I am financially much better off in the UK.

I can't really imagine how hard it would be being single & working in retail in Perth but clearly there are lots of Australians in that position so it must be possible. If you lived in one of the far flung suburbs where rent is cheaper (& from what I've read on here rents are dropping) and worked locally in retail then you could make it work.