childcare rates, cost of living ect

Guest ciaranm86

Guest ciaranm86

hi im ciaran from ireland and im in the middle of getting my skilled 175 visa. ill be emigrating to perth or brisbane next year not too sure where yet, i was looking up childcare rates and they dont look too cheap. my 2 kids are aged 2 and 1 and the 2 of them will be in childcare if me and my wife will be working. any suggestions on whats the best cheapest childcare is or do i qualiffy for government help ect??? i am a qualified plumber so i hope to get a job with good salary or what is a plumbers salary in perth/Brisbane? any other info will be great thanks

Guest guest17301

If you qualify for childcare rebate (which most people with a combined income of less than $160k or so do) you will get a percentage of your costs paid for by the government depending on your income...if youre on a low income that means you'll get a high percentage but if youre near the cut off much less, maybe a few dollars at the most.......at the end of each quarter you then get 50% of what you actually paid minus the rebate back in a lump sum. I find that for us that means my $55 a day childcare only costs me about $25 so excellent incentive to go to work and use childcare Id say. I think the Aussie system is pretty generous...

If you qualify for childcare rebate (which most people with a combined income of less than $160k or so do) you will get a percentage of your costs paid for by the government depending on your income...if youre on a low income that means you'll get a high percentage but if youre near the cut off much less, maybe a few dollars at the most.......at the end of each quarter you then get 50% of what you actually paid minus the rebate back in a lump sum. I find that for us that means my $55 a day childcare only costs me about $25 so excellent incentive to go to work and use childcare Id say. I think the Aussie system is pretty generous...