general wages for a carpenter

Guest kelly

hi all. found this site a few days ago and im hooked.

my husband is a carpenter and a really good one at that. we are at the early stages of applying.

can anyone tell me what the average wage is for a chippie and is there really loads of work for them. what the general working hours are although that wont bother him, he works all day and night now, which is one of the reasons we are leaving here, to spend more time together as a family with our two kids aged 9 and 6.

can any one help

we are looking at going to queensland can anyone tell us the best places to look at with kids in mind

any advice will greatly appreciated :D

Hiya im no expert on carpenters but there is so much developin and house building going on in Queensland i wouldnt imagine getting a job would be too difficult .What you need to remember is he may have to start at the bottom and 'proove' his skills,my hubby is one of the best in his trade but even though his references say this ,the emplyoers want to see you in action and learn for themselves.hence wages will probably be lower than the uk i think the average wage for trades is around $20-$25 per hour.you can look at seek.com for jobs as this is one of the biggest sites in Queensland ,as for where to move ,most places we have seen since we arrived are family orientaited,schools and parks are everywhere,one of the hardest decisions is choosing where to go ,,theres too much choice ,hope this is of help,take care

Cal x

Hi, Kelly

My OH is also a Carpenter and our visa application was received in November so we are just waiting for a case officer now. We are hoping to go to Brisbane and were also considering Melbourne. Its really dependant on where my OH can find work. We are going over in May/June to check out the area's and my OH will be hoping to find out about any possible construction work.