Moving to Tasmania

Guest julliet

Guest julliet

Hi my name is julliet and me and my husband along with or two children, ages 5 and 19, are thinking of moving from Cheshire in England to Tasmania. My husband has been offerred a job in BMS and energy efficiency sales out their. I am a college lecturer and we know nothing about Tas.

Could anybody let us know what we are getting into, we have seen pics on the internet and it looks beautiful, but is it good to live their, what are the schools, shops and social life like. Is business their good, and how hard would it be for me to find a job in lecturing (I teach history, geog, sociology and classical civilisations).

Thanks in advance,

Julliet

:)

Guest julliet
Hi I dont know much about the schools etc but I did watch a documentary last night which said Tasmania is full of poisonous ants and they can kill you apparantly it is a bit of a problem over there and you can be bitten by them when you are pegging out the washing?

I dont know if it is any thing to worry about - it cant be that big a deal otherwise no one would live there?

Hi Chellem

I didnt know about the ants prob! sounds horrific. Are you going to Oz or are you just looking at the mo?

What programme was the documentary on, it may be repeated. Thanks for giving me some info, keep in touch

Julliet :)

Guest julliet
Hi I dont know much about the schools etc but I did watch a documentary last night which said Tasmania is full of poisonous ants and they can kill you apparantly it is a bit of a problem over there and you can be bitten by them when you are pegging out the washing?

I dont know if it is any thing to worry about - it cant be that big a deal otherwise no one would live there?

Hi Chellem,