Hi!!

Guest gemmaallison118

Guest gemmaallison118

Hi All!!

I'm new to this so please excuse me if I do anything wrong.

I have been advised to come on to this site for help and advice. My partner and I are in the process of moving over to Tasmania next year and would really love some advice from anyone on anything and everything.

We are coming over blind (so to speak) to Tasmania as we have not visited before however we have travelled around Australia for 12 months. We have done research on the interent and through guide books etc but would really like to know how some of you went about what you did in your first few weeks after arriving in Tasmania.

We are looking to live in Horbart and surrounding suburbs, where is the best place for a young couple to start a new life. Can anybody recommend estate agents to look up with rentals, is there a local group for new expats.

Many thanks

Gems

• 1 month later...
Guest Mandymil

Hi Gemma, we have just come back from a visit to Hobart, like you we were going to move over "blind" 18 months ago but the sponsor got cold feet & pulled out. Have stayed in contact with the office manager Vickie (we met her 18 mths ago when she was here visiting her Daughter) Just emailed her about 6 weeks ago to inform her that we were going out for a holiday in jan, & we had an email back asking us for a number so she could call us! lo & behold my Husband was re-offered the job & they wanted us to go out for a visit & they would pay his air fare. We did of course, we loved it, it will take abit of getting used to as the pace of life is much slower & they don't have shops like ours. Hobart is a great place for young couples, lots of bars & restaurants, but be warned mon- weds most places close by 8pm but open late the rest of the week. pros are: fresh air, fresh fruit & veg, beautiful scenery, never far from a beach-heaven!!!!!!!!

Let me know what you decide.

Guest siamsusie
Hi All!!