Has anyone applied as 'defacto' instead of spouse

Guest sunshinegirl

Guest sunshinegirl

Hi All

Would really appreciate your help.

My boyfiend and I (of nearly 5 yrs) are looking to emigrate. My parents are currently in queensland as investor retirement visa holders (over 4 yrs now) which i sadly know cant help us.

Due to my employment - as an insurance broker, i do not think i get 120 points but my boyfriend (estimator) is fine. We are looking to go either general skilled migration (i think its 175) or him to be sponseed.

we were wondering if anyone has applied as 'de-facto' spouse.... he has not yet proposed! haha and looking at all options... i dont know whether they look on this any negatively compared to married??

we are aged 26 and 27, speak fluent english of course, have both worked in our trades for over 3 yrs as required and want to move to queensland.... any help would be much appreciated.

planning on going to oz in feb for interviews but nothing booked as i want to be more certain i can get in.... x

Guest Furball

Hello :)

It's as a "Defacto" that I'm applying too, and I am assured that it's no different. My fiance is an Aussie though - I'm not sure how it works if you're both English. As far as I was aware though, to go on any of the "family" Visas, someone in the family/relationship needs to be an Aussie (whether by birth or by immigration).

If you can get a job out there, I think your prospective employer can sponsor you though - it proves you'll have income etc etc. I am sure others on the forums will know about that =)

I had some questions about which Visa etc and I emailed the Immigration people through their website (free, as opposed to £1 per min on the phone) and they were quick to reply and very helpful. Perhaps this might be an option?

Otherwise, I'm sure you've found the visa wizard? Australian Visa wizard - Visas & Immigration

Sunshinegirl I think you mean that you want to be added to your boyfriend's visa application, right?