General Electrician or Supervisor Electrician???????

Guest martyn

Hi,

Just about to write out my trade evidence form and was wondering whether it is worth going as a supervisor electrician or a general electrician. I'm currently a foreman/site supervisor and i've been doing this job for several years now on projects around £6 million (electrical package) looking after between 20-40 electricians, so i don't think i'd have any problems passing the supervisor trades test. But would it make any difference when i get over to aus? Would it make it easier or harder to find a job? Would Aus firms take any notice of the vetassess assessment? I have no problem going back on the tools and it would even be a welcome break. I just want to make it as easy as possible to find a job when i get over there.

On another note, we are looking at going to SA, does anybody know what the work situation for installation electricians is like? As most of the jobs on offer through the jobfinder websites are for maintenance electricians and none of them show any wages.

If anyone can help me out, i'd be very grateful. :notworthy:

Martyn

Guest Steve916

Hi Martyn,

I think you have to be assessed as an electrician first before you can go for supervisor. Im a maintenance electrician and we are planning on moving to Perth. I have looked for maintenance electrician jobs there and they pay around 90000 - 100000 AUD. You would still have to go through the licensing procedure once in Oz but from what I have read, its slightly easier in SA.

Hope this is of some help.

Steve