Occupational therapy and ahpra

Elled102

Hi,

just arrived in melbourne about a month ago and since I have been rejected for several jobs due to requiring supervised practice. I have almost three years experience as an OT in the UK, wondering if anyone in the same boat or have any recommendations?

Thanks,

Ellen :wink:

Hi Ellen

If you have a search through previous posts (just search 'occupational therapy'), there are many over the last few years about the difficulty that overseas OT's have getting work. I've followed it myself as we've been through the visa process and more recently emigration process.

Its a bit of a catch 22 situation - you need to be registered to get a job and you need a job to get registered!!

As far as I can tell the situation is hard, if you look for mainstream OT work ie in hospitals, nursing homes etc (what I would call green trouser work!!). Hard but not impossible, and there are OT's on here who've persevered and been successful with the more mainstream jobs. What is your clinical experience? Is it mainly physical? Mental health?

In my opinion the area where you are most likely to land a job is in the Occupational Rehab market. It's steep learning curve for sure if you've no experience in this area (some OT's dabble in the private sector in the UK) but doable for any experienced OT. You'd likely be working for a private rehab company, providing return to work services under WorkCover or similar insurance schemes, assessing peoples abilities to return or remain in work and advising on modified or alternative work duties, dealing with insurance companies, report writing etc. Its something that not many british OT's are experienced in - but definitely have the underlying skills. It's very 'hands off' work and very business orientated.