Decision Help

TomBrum

Hi all,

My partner and I are both in our early 20's, we are getting married this year and since visiting Australia a couple of years ago, it's always been in the back of our heads about moving.

My dad is a British born now Australian citizen living in Perth for about 10 years now.

I have an engineering based degree as well as 7 years employment in an engineering company and recently moved in to sales. My partner is an estate agent and she has done that for about 4 years now and progressed to a management position.

My questions are;

1. Will we struggle to find work?

2. We own two properties in the U.K. and ideally would want to buy asap in Oz, how soon can you buy?

3. Does anyone come from a real estate background and can help us work out what is required to work in that field in oz?

4. Are we best to visit a few more times or just go for it and see how it goes?

sorry for all the questions!

thanks ?

Unless you can get PR which you would need your occupations on the skills list then it would only be a WHV you could get. This only allows you to stay a maximum of two years and that's only if you spend a certain amount of time doing certain jobs like on a farm. You can work on this visa but only for a maximum of 6 months with the same employer. That makes it harder to get a 'proper' permanent type job as employers know they won't keep you. Tends to be more casual work on that visa. Best to check whether you can get PR I think before you look at house buying/permanent move. Your dad being there won't be relevant. Did I read your post right? You have a degree and 7 years work experience but only in your early 20's?

Edited by Tulip1

1. Possibly. WA engineering is mining focused and there has been a downturn recently. The iron ore price has been rising recently, however, so that will help.