Buying in Sydney

I'm considering a move to Sydney from Manchester, and I'm curious how viable it is to buy in the area (within a reasonable commute of the centre of Sydney)?

Currently I'm a contract software engineer in the UK and in Aus I'd be permanent on a salary of 130-150K AUD - I'd be taking a cut in overall income.

I own an house (with mortgage) in the UK, ideally I would keep this and rent it out, as a financial life-line to the UK should I return.

I have a strong affinity with home ownership and don't think I could make the jump if home ownership isn't viable.

130/150K AUD seems like a decent salary, even in Sydney - so being condemned to perma-renting seems crazy, briefly looking at property prices it seems to be that way... but of course I lack local knowledge.

Any help / advice would be much appreciated.

To buy a house in Sydney you will need well over $1M.

And probably a cash deposit of $200,000.

If you have a sizeable deposit and are on a salary of $150K you should be able to get a mortgage.

If you will only have the 1 income, ie no spouse/partner with an income it will be tough going with a large loan.

House in good area within a reasonable commute would be a bit of a stretch on one salary but apartment should be doable. A fair few in good places for $750k-$900k

My sis in law bought a nice small terrace house in Leichhardt (good inner west suburb, 15 mins to city) for $820K 18 months ago. Prices have risen, she'd probably need $1m now, but there were stacks of apartments when she was looking $150k or so cheaper

Might be helpful to define what you mean by a 'reasonable commute', for me that is under 30 mins on public transport which is usually about an hour door to door. The median price in Sydney is over $1m though so that probably is realistic.

Units (apartments) will be cheaper - have a look on domain.com.au