Health and Safety HELP

Jamiemadden7

Hello,

I was just looking for some help really understanding the Australian health and safety system, how work is going over there at the moment and what my next steps could be to improve it.

In a nut shell i've got 3-4 years experience working in a Tier 1 COMAH site, Windfarm project and Warehousing.

my 3 main quals are:

• NCRQ Diploma in Applied Health and Safety
  • ISO14001:2015 Lead Auditor
  • ILM in Leadership and Managerment (including nuclear safety culture)

Also hold GWO Certificates and Offshore Certs.

I asked for info regarding my NCRQ Diploma and how it is accepted in Oz and my reply was:

Just thought you'd like to know the NCRQ Diploma meets the knowledge requirements for Australian certification at the 'Practitioner' level (COHSPrac) provided a unit of study with assessment is completed on Australian OHS/WHS legislation. See https://sia.org.au/certification for information on the Australian OHS certification system.

The applicant for certification as a COHSPrac will then have to meet the experience requirements and complete the capability assessment.

Australian OHS certification at the Professional level (COHSProf) requires a university level bachelor qualification or higher. As the Australian Qualification Framework does not recognise QCF Level 6 qualifications as equivalent to a bachelor the NCRQ Diploma does not meet the requirements for Australian certification at the OHS Professional level.

However, as it is a program of study with a significant level of OHS the holder of a NCRQ Diploma who also has at least 5 years OHS experience may be eligible to undertake the Safety Institute of Australia Alternative Knowledge Assessment and thus eligible to undertake the COHSProf capability assessment.