Qualified Scottish Solicitor - Skills Assessment and Visa Questions

lem

Hi,

I am currently a trainee solicitor in Scotland due to qualify in August 2017.

I am hoping to emigrate in December 2019, but I see solicitors are on the flagged list to be removed which is slightly concerning.

I understand that I require to obtain a skills assessment at which point I will most likely require to undertake additional modules. I have a few questions re the skills assessment and visa:-

• As I am not looking to move until 2019, when should I apply for a skills assessment?
  • Can these modules be done via distance learning and exams taken in the UK?
  • In terms of applying for my visa, when should I begin the process?
  • Do I need to be two years post qualified before I can apply for a visa?

As solicitors are on the flagged list, does this mean that it is likely to be taken off in the next year or 3 years?

Many thanks in advance for any advice.

Hi,

I am currently a trainee solicitor in Scotland due to qualify in August 2017.

I am hoping to emigrate in December 2019, but I see solicitors are on the flagged list to be removed which is slightly concerning.

I understand that I require to obtain a skills assessment at which point I will most likely require to undertake additional modules. I have a few questions re the skills assessment and visa:-

• As I am not looking to move until 2019, when should I apply for a skills assessment?

• Can these modules be done via distance learning and exams taken in the UK?

• In terms of applying for my visa, when should I begin the process?

• Do I need to be two years post qualified before I can apply for a visa?

As solicitors are on the flagged list, does this mean that it is likely to be taken off in the next year or 3 years?

Many thanks in advance for any advice.

You are in a minefield - constructed by solicitors and politicians.

From a RMA who is also a solicitor: