Tax deductions

Dazken Amac

Good day,

Need to seek some advice regarding tax deductions:

AA) I am a merchant navy officer and my company is based in mumbai India.

I need to go to their office to complete the formalitites before I join the ship ..

Now everytime I go to India And return back I incur an expense of around 1000 AUD.

Can I claim the same OR will I get that money back back from he tax that i will pay. It is an expense incurred to go to my office in India which doesn't have a branch in Australia to join the ship. (MY JOB)

========

BB)Incase I do a course of in the Marine engine driver 3 from a private institute in Australia and will incur fees for giving my exams. Can i claim this back from the ATO.

Thanks for your help

Hello

I will move your post to the money and finance section as this is not a question regards financial advice.

These links may help a bit: https://www.hrblock.com.au/faq/tax-deductions and https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Income-and-deductions/Deductions-you-can-claim/Self-education-expenses/

However my suggestion to you would be to discuss these questions directly with your Australian Tax Adviser/Accountant.

Regards

Andy

Good day,

Need to seek some advice regarding tax deductions:

AA) I am a merchant navy officer and my company is based in mumbai India.

I need to go to their office to complete the formalitites before I join the ship ..

Now everytime I go to India And return back I incur an expense of around 1000 AUD.

Can I claim the same OR will I get that money back back from he tax that i will pay. It is an expense incurred to go to my office in India which doesn't have a branch in Australia to join the ship. (MY JOB)

========

BB)Incase I do a course of in the Marine engine driver 3 from a private institute in Australia and will incur fees for giving my exams. Can i claim this back from the ATO.

Thanks for your help