confused

i'm confused by what i have read and what my agent is suggesting and seeing as so much money is involved i thought id do a bit more digging! I am a nurse, my qualification is a nursing diploma, the agent has said i need to do the English test, my brother in law doesn't think that is correct. He said that people who have done an English degree don't need to do the test. Now obviously i don't have a degree, but i have attended an English university. I was also born and educated in England and my family are all British.

The documents they have provided also mentioned that the agents will support the application process for registration to the Australian Nursing board and 'present' me to potential employers, however, i have read on this forum that this is not a normal practice. That agents aren't normally involved in helping find employment. Is this true or is it different for Nurses / skilled workers?

You don't have to do an English test. But many (maybe most) need it to boost the points. If you can get enough points without the English exam, good news. But it sounds like you will need to do it. Your degree (even if it was English) cannot be use to boost the points, you need to take IELTS or Pearson PTE exam. I think under some occupations you can take other exams.

You should trust your agent a little more.

Look here under the points test tab - https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Visa-1/189-

I'd assume your migration agent knows more about what's required than your brother-in-law. To pass the skills assessment, it looks like you need to pass the English test: http://www.anmac.org.au/assessment-standards

"The Standard is met when the applicant can demonstrate achievement of the required scorein either the IELTS academic or OET for nurses English language test.All applicants applying under a full assessment are required to meet the English languagetesting criterion regardless of their country of origin"