Advice from those in Adelaide

Lee Earnshaw

Hi everyone

Is there anyone in the Adelaide area (UK expat) who can offer some advice on the current employment opportunities and lifestyle?

I have recently started the process to emigrate to SA and have been told I am eligible for a visa, however, I was hoping to get some honest feedback on living in Adelaide and to source the current job market before I inevitably commit?

I am a project manager and have 22 years experience within logistic operations and supply management.

Any constructive thoughts welcome.

Cheers

Lee

I'm not in Adelaide but hopefully some of our Adelaide members will be along soon.

I have a soft spot for Adelaide, it's a lovely compact city. I used to live out in country Victoria and if I drove to Melbourne, it would take me four hours to get to the edge of Melbourne and another whole hour to get to the centre - whereas it took me four hours to get to the edge of Adelaide and 20 minutes to get to the centre! Yet it's still big enough to have all the amenities you need. Beaches and wineries within easy reach. It's a restaurant and cafe culture rather than a pub culture.

However employment opportunities are definitely more challenging. Most of the big companies have their major installations in Melbourne or Sydney. Adelaide is also well known for being a "who you know, not what you know" culture.

I suggest getting on seek.com.au which is Australia's biggest job search site. Notice which agencies are advertising work in your field, ring them up and ask them for their opinion. Don't email - you'll get much better information in a phone call.

• 1 month later...