Move to Tasmania

hansi

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and would like to know about job opportunities for geologists. As I got an offer from University of Tasmania we (my husband + 13 months old baby + myself) would like to move there.

Thanks.

Dont really understand your question. You mean you got an offer at a place at university and the other will be looking for work as a 20 hours per week geologist in Tasmania? Or do you mean what are opportunities like for after your course? I believe @VERYSTORMY might know something about that occupation.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I am a geologist here in Australia.

The situation for geologists is pretty grim at the moment. At the moment one in four mining geologists in Australia is unemployed. For exploration geologists it is now 40% unemployed.

Tasmania has a mining industry, but it is fairly small compared to WA and Queensland which would be a limiting factor again. In fact over my years in Australia, most Tasmania based geologists have had to look for work in other states and that was even when the industry was doing well.

As a result I would say it would be extremely difficult for your husband to find work as a geologist in the current economic downturn within the mining industry.

Thank you very much for your prompt reply VERYSTORMY

I understand the situation. My husband is an Engineering Geologist particularly.

Slightly different, though I think his opportunities would still be fairly limited. I would check out seek.com.au to get an idea of what is out there, though I just had a quick look and there is not a single geology role currently advertised for Tasmania, I have also checked the main international geology jobs web site for you (infomine) and there is not a single job on there either.