Moving in December....can anyone help????....

Nadz128

Hello poms in Oz,

i wonder if anyone can help....

myself. The wife and the two kids are migrating to cairns Australia on the 2nd of December (7weeks approx)

my sister has a house in cairns and we are going to live with her and the brother inlaw for a year while we establish ourself to Australia.

we have sold pretty much everything we own, and now living with my inlaw's until decemeber.

im a mechanic by trade and this is also how we obtained the 189 skilled visa.

im planning on following my career into Australia and carrying on as a mechanic.

the only thing apart from our suit cases and hand luggage is a 'snap on tool box'

my question is....'is anyone on the forum, shipping/hiring a container around that date, or before', that I could pay for a section in their container???

if anyone could advice?? Or if anyone is shipping could reply....

obviously 'x' amount of money for hiring a space is waiting cash....

Hi Hubby sent his tool box in a shared container using Crown Relocations, we also sent a few boxes of personal stuff with it and we had no issues, it may be something to look into if you get no joy with a private container. Just be aware if you have a bottom and top box ,you will have to split them as they must be able to be lifted by 2 men.

Hope this helps a bit

Cal x

There is no way I would let a stranger from the internet put anything in my container. If a stranger asked you to carry something for you as you were boarding a plane would you? Of course not, well this is exactly the same and I find the request a bit offensive sorry. There are plenty of shipping options for small consignments, suggest you look into those.

Bungo does raise a fair point about the unknown factor and also that the shipping would be the liability of the person hiring the container etc.

I personally would not offer to do such a thing for someone.