Help! Don't know where to start.....

Pinkfrog

Hi all - this is my first post....

Visa granted, and hoping to move in Sept.

But with jobs, schools, houses etc to sort at home and in Perth, don't know where to start.

Moving with two kids, 9 & 3, don't know where we will live, so don't know which schools to look at.

How soon do they need to be enrolled??

How much money do you need upfront for rent, cars etc?

Really excited but also very overwhelmed.

just been reading lots on here too saying Perth is in a slump.... Is that true??

Can't risk not being able to find work! I'm an accountant, hubby is an engineer.

any words of wisdom, on anything, gratefully received!:confused:

Hi and welcome!

We moved to Victoria 18 months ago.

Rent you will need a month up front for bond money that you get back when you leave the property plus either a month or two weeks upfront rent depending on the estate agent.

We bought a ford falcon for $3000 as our first car but a cheap runaround with roadworthy you can get from about $1500.

Our primary school were very easy going and happy for the two girls to start as soon as we applied. Some have catchment areas.

We looked online at the areas and also at the school league tables.

One thing I would say is that we shipped our stuff over and wish we hadn't spent all that money doing so. I found it hard to find a cheap argos type shop online for Aus but we found 'fantastic furniture' when we got here and realised how cheap we could have got a lot of nice new furniture. Also the charity shops here are amazingly well stocked for furniture and all sorts of household goods in great condition for a really cheap price - got a sofa for $50 and queen bed for $50 too, amazing quality.

Keep surfing the net for location ideas :)