Can you get a permanent residency in Australia if you have enough money to buy a house outright

Lorna Helena Belle

I am 22 years old and have inherited half of the proceeds of my family home which has been sold. I have a degree in Textiles design but this isn't a skill that is listed on the skills list so do not think that it would be taken into consideration. I was wondering if there is any way for my to get permanent residency. I have enough money to buy a house outright there from the housing websites I have been looking at properties on. I have been to Australia once before and I loved it! Any body got any advice on how they would go about it? It is overly complex and it is confusing me...

Currently the only PR visa that you can "pay" for as such is the investment visa - and you need 5 miliion Australian to invest (plus the money you need to migrate and live).

Buying a house is not something that will give you any leeway to migrate - since you can buy houses in some rural places for less than the cost of a car...that is not an indicator for anything.

Why would the fact that you can buy a house give you a visa? It maybe possible to get a visa through having substantial funds, I don't know, but why because you can buy a house. Why not, I can afford to buy a boat, or a car or a whatever?

I'd be very careful about putting info on the internet that you have substantial funds and are looking to use them to get into Australia, there are some very clever and manipulating people out there who will promise you the world and leave you with nothing!

I think your best move would be to get in touch with a MARA register migration agent who can give you the low down on your chances. At 22 you should be able to get a WHV if you haven't already had one, that could potentially give you 2 years in Oz.