Resident return visa /permanent resident questions

Sarah Louise Heath

Hi all,

I am a permanent resident (granted August 2014) and am planning to move back to UK in the next 12 months with my Aussie partner ( who has dual citizenship).

Now I miss out on being able to apply for citizenship as I'm not planning on being here when I can apply (Dec 2016).

My perm resident visa states I can travel freely until August 2019.

if I came back just before then, do people know how long i can travel/ leave the country for post aus 2019?

also if I didn't come back until say 2020 or longer, Can I apply for a resident return visa with substantial ties as partner is Australian? .... and what are my options then? I am reading it as I'm still a permanent resident but there are restrictions/ time limits on travel?

If I come back in a few years time, I am presuming I'll be staying for the long haul but want to still be able to go home to visit etc

would my waiting for 4 years to be able to apply for citizenship start from the beginning again?

thanks in advance!

sarah

If the travel rights on your PR visa expire Aug. 2019, if you want to enter Australia at any time after that date you need a visa with entry rights such as a RRV. If your partner is an Australian citizen and you are moving to Australia, it's likely you'd be able to get a short-term RRV to enable you to enter the country, and can likely renew that as needed for travel overseas. After you've lived here 2 years, you'd be able to get a 5-year RRV.

Citizenship requires you to have lived in Australia for 4 years prior to applying, and you can't be outside Australia for more than 12 months during those 4 years, including no more than 90 days in the final year before applying.

If you're 12 months away from moving back can you not wait 18 months until you can apply for citizenship? It'll make life much simpler in the long run.