Moving to Tasmania: Hobart or Launceston?

Indianinoz

Hello,

We plan to move to Tasmania. As we can see, there are only 2 major cities, Hobart and Launceston. Hobart is huge(about 15 times the size of Launceston) but only twice as populated as Launceston which means Launceston is densely populated.

Now, which of the 2 cities would you recommend us? Of course, Hobart is the capital and if at all we can find a job in Tasmania it has to be Hobart. However, should we consider Launceston as well? Our main concern in Tasmania is getting a job. How is the job market in Launceston?

I'm a Chartered Accountant and my wife is a computer Engineer.

Hobart's not huge! It's a lovely small city though more spread out than Launceston. I prefer Hobart to Launceston but that's probably because I like to be nearer the ocean. Did you say you and your wife are coming on holiday? If you are, you will be able to judge for yourselves and also get an idea of the job situation.

Neither of the 2 cities is densely populated at all. The land area of the Greater Hobart area includes large areas of bushland (including the eastern slopes of Mount Wellington) which are not inhabited at all.

Because of the constraints imposed by the topography - a large harbour and river in between mountains and hills - building development is in a long narrow strip either side of the harbour/river.

Launceston doesn't have these constraints and is just a much more compact shape - without large areas of uninhabited bushland.

I would consider any place you can get a job: your chances are higher in Hobart, given it has twice the population of Launceston, but neither place is guaranteed for employment.

Edited by Skani