Good primary schools on Central Coast

meaty

Hi there,

I'm new to the Blue Bay/ The Entrance area and am looking for good primary schools for my kids. Unfortunately, I haven't heard anything good about the state schools in the immediate area and someone suggested the Catholic school at Bateau Bay instead.

Does anyone know of good primary schools in the area - state or private? and with respect to the Catholic school, I am not religious so does anyone know if my children would even be able to attend and also how much religious teaching there is over and above a standard RE class ( I'm Ok with the kids having a Religious Education class but how much of a religious focus is there in day to day activities...e.g do they do mass/liturgy or that kind of thing? - sorry, that might sound naive but I have no experience of religious schools).

I heard Central Coast Grammar school is great but has fees to match. I'm happy to pay fees for a good school but would prefer a decent school with a reasonable fee if such a thing exists :-)

thanks in advance.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...

Hi, did you manage to find anything out about good schools? We moved to the coast a couple of months ago and are thinking about buying a house but thinking of the future we're interested in knowing where any good schools are. We also heard that another catholic school (maybe in Tuggerah) was good but we've not heard much else.

Cheers

soph

Guest littlesarah

IME, there's a lot of snobbery about schools. Have you had a look on the my schools website? Most of it is pretty useless, but the student gain' graphs tell you a lot how the children have progressed (as measured by NAPLAN) from years 3-5. I would use that as an indicator, with other factors.