Qualified Social Worker looking for Social Care Work

scarlettp

Hello,

This is my first post on this forum and hoping to get some much needed advice. I'm getting lost in information through the internet and need to be pointed in the right direction so here goes....

I'm due to finish my degree this May and once registered I'll be a qualified social worker. I'm already aware that the AASW will not allow me to register and practice as a social worker in Oz as when I arrive this September (2014) I will not have gained enough post qualifying experience. So, I was hoping to try and gain work in a more supporting role , similar to what I do now in the UK,which is a support worker for adults with learning difficulties. I have plenty of experience in adult and children social care roles across residential settings or community work. I'm due to come over on the 12 month WHV and really need some advice on where to begin. If I am unable to secure paid work, can anyone point me in the direction of good voluntary agencies. I'm planning on heading to Sydney first then making my way to Melbourne.

Any advice, links, agencies etc would be a massive massive help!!! Many thanks in advance!!

Scarlett

Guest dannii28

Hi Scarlett,

the only help I can offer us if you are planning on extending your 12 month WHV to 2 yrs do your agricultural work as soon as you land to make sure you meet the requirements. We got caught out here :mad:

also try smart jobs you will find plenty of jobs here you would be suitable for

good luck :biggrin:

Thank you - I can't stay longer though as at the moment once qualified in the UK as a social worker you now have to do a further year of 'assisted and supported employment' in order to continue to hold your license to practice which at the moment should be completed or at least started within two years of you qualifying. That's all fine though. Ill look in to the 'agricultural work' in more detail and also look at that 'smart jobs' you mentioned too.