When and where? Itinerary help please

Britpop

The OH and I plan to come to Aus early August on WHVs. He wants to land in Sydney as that's just what he had always planned and it seems as good a place as any to start. We'll have a month or so before we have to start work! He being a bricklayer/ builder and I am an account manager but have worked as a chef for 2 years and in bars forever so imagine that'll be the likelihood. I'm leaving my dog, home, a great job with good prospects and using my savings to fund the trip so while he is happy to have no plan :wideeyed: I need some kind of idea.

So my question, where to head to follow the work and weather? We will buy a car when I can get my head around the rego system! And while we will be working, we want to experience the best of Aus. My need to work isn't great but he will have to. Can anyone suggest a potential route as a starter? It's all well me saying I want to be in Byron Bay but not if there's no work! We're both very capable and outgoing, friendly and conscientious, happy to do anything. My reasoning for going is that I'd rather be cleaning toilets in paradise than the MD is a bleak UK, hopefully I can find something in the middle rather than accidentally get stuck in rainy season with no work :twitcy:

Any help is appreciated.

Will your ticket be a return from the same city ie If you start in Sydney you'll finish in Sydney? If so, I think you might be better starting in Perth. It is usually pretty nice weather in Perth is August whereas it is still pretty wintery in Sydney. Also there is more work in WA from what I gather at the moment so it'll get you off to a good start. As it heads towards summer you should move South Eastwards to avoid the worst of the heat (no-one is comfortable in 40+ heat) then as it comes around to winter again head Northwards to Queensland, back across to Darwin (via Uluru if you can afford it) then back down to Perth to return home.