irish family moving to brisbane - warner

martina5ft2

hi folks

my partner went a month ago on 457 visa.

he is a joiner and i am a spa therapist.

renting a house in warner.

me and our 2 year old daughter head in 6weeks.

we are young couple.

looking any idea on how to meet people.

any mother and todler groups etc..

any irish in the area..

any idea or tips or anyonr looking to meet up feel free to comment xx

thanks martina :biggrin:

Hi there

We are in Eatons Hill which just the next suburb down.

There are lots of lovely groups around - playgroups and groups for people new to the area.

We have lots of meet ups - I go to a park one every Tuesday (it's a different park in the area every week).

We go to a play group at South Pine Community Church on Fridays - it also runs on Wednesdays.

xx

• 5 months later...

Hi, my partner got offered sponsorship on the 457 visa, has to go out to Brisbane for a trial in a couple of weeks. He is a solid plasterer and has his qualification in his trade. Just wondering is Brisbane very expensive, we have 2 kids, 5 and 1 year old. We were holdin' out for the state sponsorship and TRA just sent off when we got the offer of sponsorship so we think it would be the quickest and easiest way in on the 457 visa. Anyone gone on the 457 visa? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hi thanks for replying! The employer is arranging accomodation and transport when he gets over on trial and we haven't thought after that. It will give my partner a chance to suss out Brisbane and to meet his employer. How are you finding it? Are you working? My partner was offered a basic enough wage and we are a bit worried that it won't pay. I'm looking at the weather over there too, does it rain a lot? What would you have to earn a week to live comfortably over there? I'm asking a lot of questions, it's just we're very apprehensive about the whole move with two kids!

Hi there.