Hello UK and Ireland, this is Australia Calling.

Guest JohnKelly

Guest JohnKelly

G'day folks, I left Nth Ireland 40 years ago and that was under the 10 Pound Assisted Passage Scheme.

Australia is my home, and the home of our children and grand children.

My wife and I have been back to Ireland for a holiday and we also toured England and Scotland, we enjoyed it immensely, but it was a holiday and it was good to return home to The Lucky Country.

I will browse through the Forum and if I can help with any questions, then I will.

Cheers.

Guest Mark&Justine

Hi John

Welcome aboard, since registering I have found this site to be very useful, there is obviously so many questions, queries that need answering before we all fly off to the other side of the world. if only they decided to do the £10.00 system again!!

Where abouts are you in Australia, me and husband are heading to Perth. I notice your occupation is Police Officer, I work as a Probation Service Officer here in England, Criminals - there everywhere! I do hope Perth's crime rate is low? Do you think it would be fairly easy to work in this field. I am sure the systems are alot different.

Enjoy the site.

Justine

Guest JohnKelly

G'day Justine, you should not have any trouble continuing in the same job in Perth, it is after all a growth industry. :wink:

The Australian legal system and therefore the Courts System is based on the British and you would find no problem.

In so far as cities go, Perth has a relatively low crime rate.

In any case, who knows what you might end up doing, Western Australia Police is on a big recruiting campaign, are you interested? :)

All the best and good luck.

Cheers.

Hi John...........what's the craic?

I'm also from Northern Ireland, we hope to be heading to Perth in a couple of months time, we're on the last leg of our visa application now so fingers crossed!!

My partner is a plasterer and I've been told he'll have no probs work wise.