where is a family area to settle in Sydney?

tinkerbell13

we were granted our visas on Monday and we are excited about validating them next summer. I am a teacher so we will spend 5 weeks next summer looking around. My husband works in insurance and has contacts in Sydney, but we are not clued up on the best areas for young families. I am 31 and myhusband is 32 and we have 2 children, a 3 year old and 4 month old. some friends of ours suggested Terrigal but that seems too far from Sydney. Can anyone recommend areas closer? I've heard Coogee is good and Kingsford? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

From excited and aprehensive Tinkerbell

Hi Tinkerbell

That really is a bit too broad a question to answer properly. Do you have an idea of budget, work location and preferred commute times, any particular preferences eg strong wish to be near the beach, public transport needs etc?

The main/best known family area in Sydney with large houses with pools etc would be the Hills District (around Castle Hill) but there are so many more. Terrigal is definitely too far - it's not in Sydney.

If you are able to give us a bit more detail we can help you a lot better.

Cheers

S

I like the area where my brother lives - Picnic Point - about 40 mins south west of the city. with a good train service, shopping, schools, I guess homes are around $700,000 and up. Of course if you can afford to live by the sea, then go for that.

The further you go from the city, the hotter it gets in summer, and the longer it takes to commute and sometimes the transport system is poor.