Separate 457s, one PR visa?

Guest Siamozzer

Guest Siamozzer

Hi all,

I posted this in the Migration Issues forum two days ago but didn't get any responses, so I'm posting it here and hoping that someone can help me.

Please go straight down to the last couple of lines for the crunch, if you'd like to skip the background info.

Last week I asked you for advice on whether my fiancé and I might have a problem with our visa if I go back to work in the UK after we get married (we're living in Denmark at the moment, but I just haven't been able to find a job around here since I finished my Master's degree, which is driving me nuts), and I pretty much got the go-ahead.

However, this week we've had another brainwave, but we're not sure if it would be legal, so I'd like to feel you all out on this topic, please.

Our visa situation is the following: we're planning on going his visa/s, because I've been studying for the last couple of years, so I don't have any current work experience that counts. He's been offered a 457 visa, and the company is also willing to sponsor a PR (ENS 121, I think) visa at the same time, so we'd get into Oz quickly, and then pop out to NZ briefly when the PR visa is ready to be granted. However, they only want to start the process in time for a project later in the year, so we'd probably only be going towards the end of 2011.

Right, now for the brainwave: if we're going to be apart anyway, we've been thinking that maybe it would make sense for me to go to Australia ahead of him instead of back to the UK in the meantime? Assuming I can find an employer willing to sponsor me for a 457 (and it's a big if, as my background and experience are in teaching English, and my Master's is in International Relations (or along the lines of Social Professionals, not elsewhere specified), could I go over first?