Teaching in Brisbane

AnniS

Hi All,

My husband and I are moving to Brisbane in January and I have a couple of questions about my job. I know that permanent jobs aren't easy to come by and the best way in is through supply/contract work. I also know that I have to register with the Queensland College of Teachers and Education QLD if I want to work in a state school. My questions are: I haven't totally completed my NQT here in the UK (1 term left though I have taught full time for a year), so do I need to apply for full or provisional registration? Also, can I get these applications sorted before leaving the UK? Oh,and can anyone give me the names of any supply agencies? We will be living in New Farm for the first 3 months and hoping to stay in the city after that.

Thanks! Anni

Hi Anni,

I've been teaching for 18 years but still had to apply for provisional registration. I can't remember the exact rules but you can only apply for full QCT registration when you've been teaching in Queensland/Australia for a year. If you "pass" the year then you can apply for full registration.

I'd love to know how you get on as I'm trying to find a job for the start of their year in January - although being in the UK is difficult. Failing that I think we might move later on in the year.

The registration came through a little over the 4 week deadline; it took 5 weeks so don't worry too much if it's a bit late.

Emma

Hi All,