Remembrance Day

nik_kershaw

As a former soldier I will be down at the Australian War Memorial showing my respect for the fallen, especally as some of them were friends of mine. And afterwards I may have a few down the Canberra Services Club. I have also managed to get a few British poppies as well.

So what are you guys doing on the 11/11 at 11am?

I will be observing the silence on the 11th as will my husband who works on a busy site at our Norwich University and i hope our daughter's High School will observe it too.

Gail x

Guest Magnetic6
I doubt any schools in England will even mention it to the kids

Brooksey i think you might be suprised. At my son's school the kids have been selling poppies on behalf of the British Legion at breaktime and when i mentioned it to a friend who lives in a different area, her childrens school were doing the same. I think it's a great idea.

Sue i agree with you about the sight of old soldiers, always brings a tear to my eyes.

At 11, i'll explain to my kids why we're being silent.

Natalie x

I doubt any schools in England will even mention it to the kids

I think you are wrong there, both my children are aware of the great wars, 1st and 2nd and are aware of soldiers today fighting in different parts of the world, and they have learnt this from the great education at schools, my eldest walked through the trenches in Belgium and was made aware of the great sacrafices made by all soldiers from around the world that laid down their lives for us. So please do not make comments like this when there are hundreds of teachers around England trying to educate our kids.